100 word short story for a past competition


 

Assimilated to a mentality that is not my own, searching for other options seems futile but my resolve is unforgiving.  If only I were younger I’d be long gone but a mothers love keeps me here.  This place ‘old school’ repressed in a way that disparages the best in a person, my sanity yearns for an environment where there is equality but I’m afraid favourites rule the roost no matter how hard the work horse inside me strives.  Individual perspective can separate us but the smallest understanding unites, opening the door to all minds if only for a split second.

Leave a Reply

