I know I really shouldn’t


I don’t know why I do it

It happens all the time

It doesn’t make me feel better

So why do I waste my time?

 

I know I really shouldn’t

But its simply to escape

I want to feel the heaviness

Lift and dissipate

 

I want a drink from the bottle

I want to taste the bite

It eases what I feel

Numbs for me for a night

 

Ah – the relief as it seeps into my soul

But it fools me

As it pulls me deep within

 

Once I’m there it’s a different world

Suspended  I’m unaware of time

Not happy nor sad

I merely am

 

Wakeup, wakeup

I shake myself inside

 

I hate it in the morning

My guts turned upside down

 

Why’d I have to drink so much

I do this all the time

 

I wish I hadn’t drank

It messes with my person

And confuses my mind

Leave a Reply

