Artist Date 4 –


Pick a topic and away we go…

Can’t think of anything to chat about, well anything that might seem interesting, helpful or even funny…

I’ll start with a brain teaser, maybe something might come to me, if not I’ll leave it at the teaser 😀

Q: Why could cinderella not play football?

A: Because she ran away from the ball!

It’s amazing I can even remember the above, my mind obviously isn’t designed to retain jokes.  Isn’t it always when put on the spot, asked “tell us a joke” that you can never remember one.  Recently at an informal job interview I was asked to answer some short questions, one was to write a joke… Ugh, how annoying I thought as I tried my hardest to look peppy, full of energy, and someone you’d like to employ 😀

thank god I had my cinderella brain teaser, yep I’ve used that bad boy/girl on many an occasion!

Love throwing it at guys because it’s football related, as though they should get it instantly, the answer isn’t the most obvious hence it being a brain teaser, nobody has ever got it not surprising as I didn’t get it either 🙂 think I’d probably be secretly impressed if someone actually answered it first time, secretly because I’d be so shocked I wouldn’t be able to convey my feelings…

Ok, here we go… I’ve just thought of something to woffle about, didn’t take so long,

Feelings~

recently I met up with some old friends, we grew up together hadn’t seen each other in 15 years, so it was pretty cool.  The evening was a little more of a novelty because the nightclub we used to party at had a reunion night. It wasn’t in the original club as it had been shut down years ago and then more recently bull dozed [sniff sniff].

However the night was great craic/Fun and we caught up with variety of people we had known, the evening ended on a bit of unfortunate note for me as I was reminded of a situation between a boy and myself.  This boy was not at the reunion but his friend was so we chatted about things that had transpired between this boy and me.

Long story short, a boy I went to school with many years ago had liked me, as a teenager I didn’t date much and was reluctant to hurt this boy so I never agreed to go out with him, but we were friends and had the same friends.  We would all drink together had many a good night out, this boy would come back to mine with our other mate I’d make tea and toast and we’d put the world to rights nothing more, we were just all really good friends from school.

I moved to the States, he had a sister in CA, he worked there a bit then came to stay with me for awhile in DC.  I came home to N.Ireland he worked in different countries but when he was home we’d meet up and do the same thing  we always did, have a drink he’d tell me about his travels, we’d trade stories and perspectives.  Then  I found out he’d been coming home and he hadn’t let me know, our other friend would spill the beans leaving me to wonder why he hadn’t wanted to go for our usual drink.  So I bump into him the next time he was home in a local bar and I’m giving him loads of abuse, giving off a little [as all of us girls do] he wasn’t saying much, sort of let me woffle on then turned to me to say the strangest thing, he said “Sarah why would you care” well I stood there mouth gaping a little, I wasn’t catching flies or anything, that would’ve been way too unattractive 😀

Anyway it suddenly hit me, a realisation that had never occurred to me before, I had feelings for this guy,

it was literally like a ton of bricks right there in the middle of the bar, an avalanche just hitting me all at once, hmmmm really how could I have missed this?!?

I would love to tell it ended well that this guy I had known from school, had a little history with, a fella I had learned to trust and enjoyed being around was meant for me…

Back to his friend though on the night of the reunion, yes after explaining my side and how disgruntled I was, he simply turned to me and said “yeah but Sarah you just hold it all in, you don’t share your feeling” looking at me intently with a blameful eye as though this were an unforgiving act.

The boy was not meant for me, looking back now I was hurt by the manner in which our friendship came to an abrupt end.  But regardless of how much or little I showed my feelings at that time, if it was meant to be it would have been so.  I have no regrets…

Let me tell you what I am certain of this boy taught me about myself, that I have the ability to love and trust which takes a great deal of strength, especially in the social climate we find ourselves today!  He came into my life at a time I was unable to love or trust,  he was a constant variable at random periods, familiar and although our friendship was not destined to last we both gained from the experience.

This was sent to me via email and perhaps helps to shed light on my woffling this evening;

People come into your life for a reason, a season or a lifetime. When you know which one it is, you will know what to do for that person. When someone is in your life for a REASON, it is usually to meet a need you have expressed. They have come to assist you through a difficulty, to provide you with guidance and support, to aid you physically, emotionally or spiritually. They may seem like a godsend and they are. They are there for the reason you need them to be. Then, without any wrong doing on your part or at an inconvenient time, this person will say or do something to bring the relationship to an end. Sometimes they die. Sometimes they walk away. Sometimes they act up and force you to take a stand. What we must realize is that our need has been met, our desire fulfilled, their work is done. The prayer you sent up has been answered and now it is time to move on. Some people come into your life for a SEASON, because your turn has come to share, grow or learn. They bring you an experience of peace or make you laugh. They may teach you something you have never done. They usually give you an unbelievable amount of joy. Believe it, it is real. But only for a season. LIFETIME relationships teach you lifetime lessons, things you must build upon in order to have a solid emotional foundation. Your job is to accept the lesson, love the person and put what you have learned to use in all other relationships and areas of your life. It is said that love is blind but friendship is clairvoyant. Thank you for being a part of my life, whether you were a reason, a season or a lifetime.

have an amazing Monday

keep your chin 🙂

sd

One thought on “Artist Date 4 –

  1. Very, very true! Experience has taught me to be very concerning with my love, and trust; a sort of ‘self-preservation’, if you like! What exasperates this more so, is when we get let down by people who we have shared intimate & precious times, thoughts & emotions!!
    I have had the misfortune to have known people like this over the years….we all have; you let yourself get sucked-in, drop your guard, and ultimately, get hurt!! It’s not all in vain though, as long as you can learn from it….take a little piece of posativity from it, even if all that is that I wont make the same mistake twice!!??
    We think we can get to know people, trust, respect, & love, but what is really important is, that we learn to do all of this to ourself!!! Once we our truley happy within, can we share all these traits with others!!….I think anyway!! 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

