Young and Raw – Gentle green detox smoothie


Gentle-Detox-Green-Smoothie

So I really want to try and better my eating habits, they aren’t horrendous by any means I usually eat fresh foods but I’ve definitely found within the last five years I eat more cake, chocolate and biscuits than ever before.  I could say it’s part of having a child going to children’s birthday parties, or visiting with friends.  My mum taught me to always take a little something with you when you visited friends and family so I would generally take a cake or biscuits and inevitably end up eating them!

The ingredients; [priced from Tesco online]

  • 1 Leaf of Kale £1.29 [bag of]
  • 1 Handful of Curly Parsley £0.80 -£1.29 [picked or plant]
  • 1 Green Apple  £1.60 [bag of apples]
  • 1 Cup of Cucumber £0.80
  • 1/2 Lemon, Juice Only £1.25 [bag of 5]
  • 1 inch piece of Ginger £1.00
  • 1 tbsp. Hemp Seeds £0.87 -£0.99
  • 1 Cup of Water or Coconut Water £0.89 – £3.00

found at http://www.youngandraw.com/gentle-detox-green-smoothie/?fb_action_ids=448088135271694&fb_action_types=og.likes&fb_source=aggregation&fb_aggregation_id=246965925417366

At first whiff the ingredients smell fresh once blended together, if green had a smell it would be this smoothie.  I didn’t find anything over powering about the taste, it is neither sweet nor sour, it might suit more people because of its neutral flavours.  Everything is trail and error, the page encourages you to swap ingredients for local produce, I don’t feel that I’m at a stage where I could just randomly through raw food together and have it taste reasonable, so I’ll keep to the recipe for now 🙂

The consistency of the smoothie is thicker than the average drink as it is a smoothie, a good blender is required.  Of course anyone who regularly drinks healthy smoothies may think my description is a bit weak but I’m putting this video up for all those who don’t regularly venture to healthy eating and wish someone else would try it first ‘just to see’ what happens or how it turns out.

I got a little tired of drinking it half way through not because of its taste, in fact I love the light ginger after bite 🙂 I’m just not used to the consistency, which tells me I could add a little more coconut water the next time.  Or if you think the glass is too much for one sitting try half in the morning and half in the evening or half one day and half the next day.  Baby steps, don’t force yourself to chug the whole glass at once you’ll just put yourself off completely!

I’ve really enjoyed trying something new and healthy, I will definitely look into other smoothies and of course after a couple of weeks I will let you know if I feel or visibly see the positive effects 🙂

see my youtube video below, enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VAhac7lsxBM

sd

4 thoughts on “Young and Raw – Gentle green detox smoothie

  1. Hmmm, might try this??? Just looking at the ingredients, might try swapping the lemon for lime, parsley for coriander, and add a bit of chilli !!! :p Pak Choi might work instead of the kale too?? 🙂

    1. Oh look at YOU, see I don’t have the experience yet to just bit’a’bat’a BOOM know what would work lol, I have to watch chilli though I’ve a sensitive stomach supposed I could just use a pinch, cool 🙂

      1. LOL…..cooking’s not a science….it’s art, and you’re an artist, so just express yourself!!! 🙂 BTW…love the video, espesh when you try to murder the blender!!! Thank goodness you weren’t working as my commis in any of my kitchens, or I would have to have tried you for crimes against blenders!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

