My Mum


Turned sixty today, Happy Birthday Mum, I put together a photo book which she seemed to like.  And even though it can be a challenge for a budding beginner creator, it is worthwhile.  I used Snapfish and I have to say the quality was great and the customer service is spot on, believe me when I tell you – I’m difficult to impress!

So all the rooting through old photo’s was for my mum, when the photo book arrived I couldn’t stop myself from thinking how can I make this more personal, I obviously felt the pictures of her weren’t enough? 🙂

I had friends and family sign the book, calligraphed a Druid Triad at the back of the book along with a poem I had written her back in 1999.  Probably one of my very first poems.  I don’t think I need to explain it, I’m as subtle as a brick through a window.

Here is the Triad;

There are three whose full reward can never be given to them: parents, a good teacher, and the Mighty Ones.

My poem doesn’t have a title:

It seems so ironic
that the women I put so much
effort into not liking or getting on with
during my younger years 
should be the only one to help me now.
*
Although I’ve become used to 
not hugging or kissing her,
her voice to this day
like it did so many times
soothes me.
*
I never usually come out
with the right words but
they’re in my head – honest
My mouth doesn’t follow the command
someday, perhaps you’ll read my diary
and find the harsh language
I used in my hot displeasure
but I could never put into words
to you mum
how much I care for you
*
But only because my mouth won’t follow the command.
 
 

 The beginning, the middle but never the end xox

sd

One thought on “My Mum

  1. with a little rehearsal
    i imagine beautiful continuations
    in the direction of the past
    and in the direction of the future
    fully hearing their shared love
    in the present moment 🙂

Leave a Reply

