I haven’t washed my hair


In three and half weeks!! :-O

It will be four weeks on Tuesday 21st October.

So why would I not wash my hair, you’re thinking it’s got to smell, right?  Well I read an article and I guess it left an impression on me, see below;

https://uk.lifestyle.yahoo.com/blogs/barefaced-beauty/beauty-blogger-gives-up-shampoo-for-two-years–loves-her-healthy-hair-125149630.html

So apparently Lucy Aitken Read was fed up spending money on expensive, chemical-laden shampoo – I totally hear ya Lucy that however wasn’t my first reason for deciding to try this experiment.

I read the article a couple of months back, it struck me as a great idea.  My hair and scalp within the last year has become increasingly ‘unhappy’ I had to consider was it what I was eating or the products I was using.  And of course it could logically be a mixture of the two!

My eating is at it’s best, the only processed foods I now consume are biscuits, but one step at a time peps can’t just decide to STOP everything negative in my life all at once, baby steps ya know, plenty of time.  I don’t believe any good would come from putting pressure or stress on yourself to give up everything negative in your life all at once, I’m pretty sure it would be a shock to most people’s system. I would suggest starting with one thing you’d like to change in your life and focus on that, you don’t have to do it straight away, consider it, look at the pro’s and con’s.  Remember Rome wasn’t built-in a day 🙂

I had consciously been attempting to live a healthier life, this for me isn’t one aspect of living but rather it ranges from foods, toiletries, clothes, people I connect with, music I listen to etc as well as making good decisions.  Each of us can only try to remedy the discomfort we experience in our lives, what better place to start than the ones we inflict on ourselves.

So my scalp had become very flaky and dry and I tried medicated shampoo’s but even with brands such as Head’n’Shoulders I wasn’t experiencing any relief.  I believe my scalp had reached an overly exhausted point having put up with years of abuse from chemically infused modern-day products, it’s safe to say the issue had been on my mind when I came across Lucy’s article on Yahoo.  I waited until the time felt right and just decided to go for it.

I’ve taken some pictures and have a voice recording of how my scalp smells, you might not make it to the end of the voice recording because I get to a point where I just can’t stop laughing, perhaps because I’m very aware my hair smells badly and the idea of ‘natural body odor’ seems to amuse me to know end?

Once I began the experiment I remember reaching day three and that for me was make or break, I was either going to commit or go back to using Head’n’Shoulders.

Below are two pictures at eight days;

8days1

It’s not too greasy here but it becomes flaky, which isn’t the most pleasant but it’s also not the end of the world. Be nice to people with dandruff 😀

I’m not sure at what point the itching began but the itching could possibly be the most irritating experience, the flakiness goes away to a degree with brushing [scratching].  I really try not to scratch my hair with my fingers, I grab my tweezers and GENTLY relief my itch.  I would liken it to having a plaster cast on and sticking a knitting needle down the cast to relief the itchiness, if anyone has experienced broken bones.

Below are three pictures at twenty-four days;

3wks4

When the hair is tied back it doesn’t appear overly greasy this would be a positive if you considered trying shampoo free hair, although once the hair is down it is lank and unmistakably not FRESH.  I have begun to wear a hat as people have looked at my head several times and I’m now convinced THEY KNOW!! :-O

So at this point a couple of days on from the above pictures the scalp has a build up and it reminds me of cradle cap;

cradle cap

noun – a skin condition sometimes seen in babies caused by excessive production of sebum, characterized by areas of yellowish or brownish scales on the top of the head.

I have to warn you the audio is a bit silly, I recorded it on my phone and then had to create a slideshow attaching the audio at the end, a bit of a head ache.  In the next couple of weeks I will take more pictures but actually video my hair so that you can get a better idea of its progression.

I’ve set out in my mind that I will complete two months, I truly hope by this stage it has ‘bounced back’ to some degree as it is pretty horrible at the moment, not totally unbearable however during the earlier days it was uncomfortable at night and yes, I change my pillows often to keep them fresh!

I wouldn’t try this experiment if;

– you’re beginning a new job.

– are single with a hope of dating during the time of the experiment.

– please consult your doctor before trying this if you already suffer from a medical skin/scalp condition.

–  other people’s opinions matter or deeply affect you.

– you’re not feeling 100% comfortable within yourself.

CHECK out Lucy’s blog here ——> http://lulastic.co.uk/

I’m off to see if I can find her book £2.75 – http://www.amazon.co.uk/Happy-Hair-definitive-shampoo-release-ebook/dp/B00MDHSOVK/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1407106140&sr=1-1&keywords=Happy+Hair%3A+The+definitive+guide+to+giving+up+shampoo%3A+Save+money%2C+ditch+the+toxins+and+release+your+hair%27s+natural+beauty

Good luck and if nothing else I hope you’ve managed to smile, giggle or laugh uncontrollably at my experience.

sd

Leave a Reply

