Freedom in feeling remorse


93603-050-B53B5A32

Google images

I’m sorry…

 

I imagine “Finally” silently escape

Dry chapped lips

Eyes wide, as though you gaze a mirage

On a horizon of disbelief

 

My apology is not

An admission of guilt

I feel none

 

Rather a validation

Of your pain

The extent of which

I do not pretend to grasp

 

Instead compassionately I compare it

To a gorge of limitless depth

 

In the darkness hatred needlessly grows

Yet

Numerous doorways

In the mind’s eye

Lightly lay in wait

 

Through understanding my own suffering

I glimpsed yours

A brief scene

A landscape laid out

 

Instantly the pain hits my gut

And ricochets up

The hole in my heart

Bandaged

Springs a leak

 

And in that moment

“I’m sorry”

Grief floods my every fibre

Washed away by the knowledge

Of what we did to each other

 

Splitting hairs no more

I blink

Awareness chases bereavement and blame

I breathe

The load lightens

Freed, allowing movement

My mind boundless

Races forward

In your domain

I am a slave no more

 

seedoflife

Seed of Life
Google images
Leave a Reply

